Red Bell Peppers Stuffed With Quinoa

Today I made red bell peppers stuffed with quinoa and feta cheese. This is the first time I make quinoa and I to tell you the truth it came out terrific. I saw this recipe online and it called for rice but I decided to use quinoa since it has more nutricional value.

The ingredients I used were: 3 red bell peppers, prewashed quinoa, half an onion (white), half a tomato, salt, pepper, half a cup of feta cheese, dry basel.

First I cooked the quinoa. Quinoa is made just like rice (if you use 1 cup of quinoa you need to boil 2 cups of water). I bought prewashed quinoa from the local supermarket, and this quinoa was also lightly seasoned which was a plus. I boiled 2 cups of water, then added 1 cup of quinoa and stirred it a little in the water, the heat was put on medium low for about 14 minutes. Watch that the quinoa doesn’t burn. When the water has dried the quinoa should be ready. If you don’t get seasoned quinoa you need to add salt to the water.

Next I washed the red bell peppers and cut them in half lengthwise and proceeded to put them in the oven ( preheated to 400 F) for about 25 minutes.

While the peppers are in the oven, I put a large skillet on medium heat with some olive oil. I added the sliced onion, 1 tsp of dry oregano, 1 tsp of salt, a pinch of black pepper and cooked it for 3 minutes. Then I added the diced tomato and let it cook for another 3 minutes. After the 3 minutes I stirred in the quinoa until the it was heated through.

Next I removed the skillet from the heat and I added the feta cheese and stirred. When the peppers were roasted I stuffed them with the mix and put the peppers back in the oven for another 5 minutes and vuala!!

Leave a comment